Archiving - The last part of the publishing lifecycle
The whole lifecycle of content is very important, as it enables you to keep your content relevant, up-to-date and correct.
This screenshot shows the content editor properties tab with a Publishing Schedule set; this is where you set expiry or archive dates.
Archiving is an important facet of the lifecycle and with this in mind we have built a number of archiving features to support this.
Against any piece of content you can set a publishing schedule to determine when it expires. Email notifications are triggered when something is about to expire so (if needed) you can extend the time it is kept active. As well as email notifications, reports are available (on the dashboard) for content that is due to expire in the next month.
When the expiry date is reached the content is automatically removed from the site and archived. The item will automatically be removed from menus and links to the archived item will be removed (with notifications to the page editors).
This screenshot shows an archived piece of content in the navigator, with the option to unarchive
When archiving an item by default it will no longer be visible in the navigation tree however there is the option to show archived content in the navigator if needed.
It is worth mentioning that any user with privileges can simply click on any item in the navigator to archive it there and then without needing to wait for the expiry date.
At this stage you can simply leave the item archived or choose to unarchive it at a future date.
A screenshot of the management console showing the option to access Archived Content.
The Content Archive
If the section in which the archived content existed is deleted the item will be moved into the Archived Content area. At this point, if you wish to bring the archived item back you can do so using the Unarchive Wizard.
If you search for an item that is held in the Content Archive it will show up as 'archived' in the search results.
Running this functionality with the publishing features gives you total control over the lifecycle of your content.